Tackle Tray organisation

mazman
Has liked: 137 times

Tackle Tray organisation

Post by mazman » Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:06 pm

Hi guys, Just recently I've started trying to clean up my gear and make it a bit neater. Just looking for ideas on how you organise your trays and wether you use multiple smaller trays or less larger trays. Especially interested in Lures, squid jigs and Jigheads but a few ideas for the bait side of thing would be great.

Cheers Alex
Youtube channel:Hawkesy Fishing

cobby
Has liked: 136 times

Re: Tackle Tray organisation

Post by cobby » Tue Feb 03, 2015 7:18 pm

3700 Plano trays and a label maker

kaotay

Post by kaotay » Tue Feb 03, 2015 7:38 pm

I'm no expert but a couple of things I do for my landbased tacklebag are:
- I keep new hooks in their packets to keep them away from salt/air and for ease of identification. I reserve a pocket of my fishing bag just for hook packets, bundle them together with a rubber band
- used hooks go in a separate box, never with new hooks. I keep lures and jigheads in this box too. Actually I rarely keep used hooks in the tackle box, they will usually stay on the rig, which gets wrapped around a length of pool noodle.
- sinkers go in a separate box, never with hooks as they're heavy and can blunt your hooks with movement
- squid jigs go in their own box, top and tail them and you can fit quite a few in. (always put sharp ends away from each other to preserve the cloth wrapping) I have one of those boxes that opens on 2 sides, dark jigs in one side and light coloured jigs in the other. I use the Black magic jig box, which has small holes to allow the jigs to dry out if they're wet/damp. When swapping jigs, don't put them back in the box straight away, leave them out to dry a little first. They'll last longer.

4liters
Has liked: 6 times

Post by 4liters » Tue Feb 03, 2015 8:51 pm