Knife sharpener

ducky
Has liked: 22 times

Knife sharpener

Post by ducky » Fri Jul 03, 2015 6:03 am

G'day guys.

Don't know if this will help anyone but I figure it might hence the post.

Being a kid from Dandenong, I've always had a fixation with knives. The sharper and stabbier the better...

Nah, I've always done a bit of cooking, wanted to become a chef at one point (before I worked as a kitchen hand at the Lobster cave as a teenager, what a shitty thankless job) I learnt how to roughly use a stone and a steel and from them on I was the "sharpening guy" the poor sucker that gets asked to sharpen family members knives that look like they've been used to chop wood. I was never good at it but always got some sort of a result that was better then the "before" shot.

A few years ago when our cheap knives needed replacing I finally splashed out and bought a full range of victorinox knives. Hardly professional quality but definitely better then the regular wiltshire crap you get at department stores. These knives whilst excellent when new slowly lost their edge. Treated like gold at the start they now get thrown in the dishwasher. Used to cut anything and everything and are just generally disrespected.

The whole set of ~10 knives was blunt as all hell, the steel did nothing, they needed sharpening badly. I looked up prices of getting them professionally done, around $0.55c a cm. Or somewhere around $9-10 a knife.

I had stumbled across the lansky sharpening system a few years ago as you do on the interwebs, I went searching for it again. Found a few videos. Found them on ebay for $80us. Figured I had nothing to lose, give it a shot.

Well, it came yesterday. Despite some early misgivings with the brackets that once worked out was easy enough. Can I just say what an awesome little knife sharpener. It takes a bit of work. Around 5-10mins per knife but it makes them absolutely razor sharp. Most of the time was spent with the coarse stone creating the new edge.