help needed please

cozza8686

help needed please

Post by cozza8686 » Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:35 pm

Hi everyone.
Some of you may already know from my introduction that i am new to fishing.
My son is turning 7 next week and has requested fishing gear as a present and to go fishing for his birthday. As it is a week day and the other kids will be at school i was wondering if anyone knows of a good landbased spot to take him for a few hours morning to arvo for a fish.
He enjoys catching flathead atm.
Thanks in advance for any help :)
:reel:
CoZzA

DougieK
Has liked: 30 times

Re: help needed please

Post by DougieK » Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:38 pm

Where are you located mate?
Chasing LBG and sharing a love for the Martial Arts, everywhere, all the time.

LBG Season 2023/4 :

Kingfish : 61

Wolly Bugger
Has liked: 13 times

Post by Wolly Bugger » Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:42 pm

cozza8686 wrote:Hi everyone.
Some of you may already know from my introduction that i am new to fishing.
My son is turning 7 next week and has requested fishing gear as a present and to go fishing for his birthday. As it is a week day and the other kids will be at school i was wondering if anyone knows of a good landbased spot to take him for a few hours morning to arvo for a fish.
He enjoys catching flathead atm.
Thanks in advance for any help :)
:reel:
CoZzA
Personally, if you really want to catch fish, I'd go to a trout farm. I use to take my kids there when they were little.

Perhaps, if you want to do salt, try targeting gar fish, best to ask at the local tackle store, also obtain a copy of the Land based fishing guide for Port Phillip and Corio bays.

azkay

Post by azkay » Mon Feb 16, 2015 3:14 pm

I just had a look at your introduction, noticed you travel around Geelong. St Helen's in Geelong is a nice family friendly place. On its day can produce pinkies, flathead and whiting. There is also bathroom facilities and a playground for the kids..
Az.

cozza8686

Post by cozza8686 » Mon Feb 16, 2015 3:16 pm