soft plastics port melb HELP

5ubzero

soft plastics port melb HELP

Post by 5ubzero » Sun Jan 12, 2014 9:57 pm

Im very new to soft plastics. Only lure fishing I have done is mainly for trout.

I understand the basics. Cast your lure out. Wait for line to get slack, Flick and reel in slack line and wait for line to get slack again.
STaying on the bottom. continue process.

How ever I have trouble with the jig head sizes, and what types of soft plastics.

1)Is there a good chance of catching, walking around lagoon, kerferd or st Kilda pier Tossing out soft plastics for hopefully a flathead.

2)Also would walking along the sand and casting for flatty work, or is it just to shallow?

3)What size jig heads, type of jig heads and hooks do you guys recommend to get down the depths quicker, And what soft plastics are ur best.

biggar

Re: soft plastics port melb HELP

Post by biggar » Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:08 pm

1/8 size jig head is a good all-round size for landbased in ppb
Angling is the name given to fishing by people that can't fish

DougieK
Has liked: 30 times

Post by DougieK » Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:25 am

All of my success with SP's has been with nuclear chicken GULPS in either shrimp or shad, or the double tailed worms that SFP chick sells for flathead.

The jighead should be the lightest you can get without losing it in the current.

You don't need a soft plastics rod or anything like that, just use your trout gear.
Chasing LBG and sharing a love for the Martial Arts, everywhere, all the time.

LBG Season 2023/4 :

Kingfish : 61

Raulfc7
Has liked: 21 times

Post by Raulfc7 » Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:30 am

Question 1: yes
Question 2: yes and also walk in the water upto knee deep
"Do good when you remember, and what you forget will be revealed to you; and do not surrender your mind to blind forgetfulness."

shazdoggg

Post by shazdoggg » Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:58 am