Time Poor

This is the place to introduce and tell everyone about yourself.
Time Poor

Time Poor

Post by Time Poor » Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:29 pm

:wave2: Hi everyone,

I guess my username describes most here?

I'm new to Melbourne, but not new to our favourite pastime. I have 30 years fly fishing experience, mainly from the UK but also US. Like most of us I started out catching toddlers with my hands in streams.

I haven't found any closeby trout locations near me so I have decided to give SPs a go. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Also as I live in inner Melb, I'd like to fish for bream in the Yarra, so any stretches that you think might produce results for a tyro would be appreciated. I fully understand people guarding their favourite spots, hence my request for stretches.

Looking forward to sharing tips, advice with anyone who wants them. I'd love to hear from any tyro fly fishers who'd like to receive my acquired knowledge, Afterall, if I don't pass it on it'll be lost.

:wave2:

Tight lines.
There is no such thing as a stupid question, only a stupid answer.

Fish-Hunter

Re: Time Poor

Post by Fish-Hunter » Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:03 pm

:welcome: to the site , fish around the docklands area for Bream is popular . :)

Time Poor

Post by Time Poor » Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:57 pm

Thanks Mike,

Are there any feeding patterns preferred by bream? Do they prefer an incoming or out going tide, slack water any particular lunar cycle, etc?

Fish-Hunter

Post by Fish-Hunter » Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:05 pm

Time Poor wrote:Thanks Mike,

Are there any feeding patterns preferred by bream? Do they prefer an incoming or out going tide, slack water any particular lunar cycle, etc?
In the Yarra / Maribyrnong rivers & Docklands as long as there is tide movement seems to get the Bream biting , but my biggest Bream come from the top of the tide . 2 days either side of moon peaks is good also . ;)

Time Poor

Post by Time Poor » Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:55 pm

Thanks Mike.

fishsticks