NEMA 2000 compatibility

Yota
Has liked: 114 times

NEMA 2000 compatibility

Post by Yota » Wed Apr 18, 2018 11:25 am

I’m new to this marine networking thing so I’ll his might be way out there, but I’ve never had it explained to me - I only know what I think I do from online,,,,
I understand that NMEA is a “standard” but I want to make sure, so I ask the obvious before I buy something that won’t fit.

Q - will a “lowrance” nmea starter kit work in my simrad nss evo 2 and mercury vessel view ?
My understanding is that the nmea is meant to be a standard that each manufacturer uses, so it would make sense to me I could buy a lowrance kit or a garmin kit and all the plugs should fit. My only “unknown” is if the pin configuration could be different for the different kits to suit each manufacturer?

Thanks

purple5ive
Has liked: 567 times

Re: NEMA 2000 compatibility

Post by purple5ive » Wed Apr 18, 2018 11:55 am

navico, own both lowrance and simrad, and connectors are similar, so id think the lowrance ones would most certainly fit.

but to answer your question, i would make an educated guess and say that different manufacturers do indeed have different plugs at their product end, the end which joins the backbone are all same type.

Yota

Post by Yota » Wed Apr 18, 2018 12:36 pm

Thanks purple, I’m a bit stuck coz I got a hefty gift card for BCF I have to use soon someday and all they sell a lowrance starter kit, I might have to just try it ?
Or buy something else ha ha

purple5ive

Post by purple5ive » Wed Apr 18, 2018 12:46 pm

What are you getting to connect the simrad to via nmea2k?

Yota

Post by Yota » Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:14 pm

I’m sure there’s a network socket on the rear of the Simrad, I’ll connect the backbone link cable there - is that what you mean ?

repspec
Has liked: 11 times

Post by repspec » Wed Apr 18, 2018 3:27 pm