Boating newbie needs opinion on engine running

Ivans
Has liked: 13 times

Boating newbie needs opinion on engine running

Post by Ivans » Sat Nov 16, 2019 1:40 pm

Hi guys need an opinion as i wouldnt have a clue how an outboard sound out of water during engine flush and the flow of water from pee hole

I have made this video, wonder if anyone can tell me if this sounds normal (being not familiar with 2strokes engine) and the water pump is pumping good flow of watee? I had a test run on patterson river for an hour. Felt ok but just making sure thanks guys

https://youtu.be/O14wrc5kcxE

Ivans

Re: Boating newbie needs opinion on engine running

Post by Ivans » Sat Nov 16, 2019 1:42 pm

Oh another question please how long should i run the engine flush on? I had it for 15 min. Worry about neigbour complaining :D

colnick
Has liked: 37 times

Post by colnick » Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:19 pm

Good day Ivans. I am no expert and others might have a different opinion but the motor sounds fine and the flow through the impeller looks absolutely normal. I reckon 15 minutes is far too long for flushing with the hose. My mechanic cautions against lengthy flushing without the leg immersed. I simply disconnect the fuel line and run till it runs out of fuel. 2 to 3 minutes at the most. Mechanic says "good"
Cheers, Col.

Ivans

Post by Ivans » Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:21 pm

Woopsies...yeah thought so. I was washing the boat as i was flushing so i wasnt thinking much. It was just in my head. I suppose i had it treated like car engine idling.

Boonanza
Has liked: 270 times

Post by Boonanza » Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:25 pm

Like Colnick said the motor sounds fine and is pumping plenty of water. I only run mine for 5 minutes max when flushing the motor.
A smart person knows what to say. A wise person knows whether to say it.

Ivans

Post by Ivans » Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:51 pm