You only get what you pay for - who sez!

Bartnmax

You only get what you pay for - who sez!

Post by Bartnmax » Mon Sep 30, 2013 6:53 pm

Time & again I've read threads where someone says "you only get what you pay for" as a veiled substitute for "you need to spend a heap of money to get good gear".
I strongly disagree. Generally yes, spend ya money & you'll usually get better quality - but not always.
Here's a couple of examples;
1. Bought a Shimano Tiagra 50 + 37kg Pack Bay fully rollered rod for game fishing. Cost $420 complete with 5 never used black magic 150lb wind ons.
2. Had TWO Penn Intenational 30s given to me for nix.
3. Recently bought a Shimano CI4 2500 - price - $120.
4. I've been using 4 overheads on snapper for the past 10+ years & not one of those reels has come anywhere close to malfunctioning for me, despite catching a heap of decent sized reds. Absolute perfect performance for each one for over 10 years now. The reels? Shakespear Tidewater 15s with 8kg berkly mono on board. Bought the lot for under $100 brand new.

Yeah, sometimes you just fall into a bargain.

On the other hand I've got a mate whom is part owner of a charter biz in Vanuato. They catch a lot of big wahoo over there that can absolutely destroy sus gear. He had 5 Shimano Stella 20,000s, that cost him an absolute packet, s _ _ t themselves bigtime within a 12 month period. Shimano just said "user abuse' & didn't want to know because it was a charter biz, which I know it wasn't abuse coz I was there when a couple of em bit the dust. Drastic gear failures all when faced with the big wahoo. Last one I watched him pitch overboard in absolute disgust. He now only uses Diawa Saltigas which have performed faultlessly for him since.

So, generally yeah, I agree you do need to be willing to spend a bit to get the best quality, but deep pockets also aren't any bomb-proof guarantee of quality either, and there's nothing that sez a bargain must automatically be rubbish.

Bill.

Nude up