Downsizing Bay Boat

frankgoff
Has liked: 9 times

Downsizing Bay Boat

Post by frankgoff » Fri Dec 31, 2021 4:48 pm

Newbie here to the forum. My dad is retiring to Melbourne (up from Tassie). Looking to get him a bay boat for him and his best mate to do some fishing in PPB.

We grew up with a Haines V17 which we used primarily for trolling off Pirates bay. It's a great boat, but after moving to Melbs, I'm looking to get him something lighter and more suited to the sort of fishing he'll be doing going forward.

Thinking tin- much lighter and easier for him and his mate (same age) to manage by themselves.
He will most likely do anchored bait fishing in the bay so a wide stable boat makes more sense than a pure narrow deep V like the Haines.

I've heard good things on boats like the Quintrex Busta/Dory family: Safe, steady and light.
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/melbour ... 1287532924

Looking to spend around 20k. Is a used open tinny a good choice for PPB fishing or should I fork up more for a cabin boat? Any recs or leads would be greatly appreciated.

canned_tuna
Has liked: 15 times

Re: Downsizing Bay Boat

Post by canned_tuna » Fri Dec 31, 2021 4:57 pm

Maybe look at something around 4.5 meres with a canopy. At least they will have a bit of shelter. I have had the savage safari 455 and they arfe a great boat for the bay

frankgoff

Post by frankgoff » Fri Dec 31, 2021 5:56 pm

Thanks canned_tuna. That's a great insight to get a canopy. The Savage Safari 455 looks good. I'll check with the local dealers after the break.

Kennyboy
Has liked: 22 times

Post by Kennyboy » Sat Jan 01, 2022 8:05 pm

Stacer outlaw, quintrex renegade worth looking at, I have an outlaw, love it

e.welch
Has liked: 190 times

Post by e.welch » Sun Jan 02, 2022 5:40 pm

frankgoff wrote:
Fri Dec 31, 2021 5:56 pm
Thanks canned_tuna. That's a great insight to get a canopy. The Savage Safari 455 looks good. I'll check with the local dealers after the break.