Job keeper plan

Everything that has nothing to do with fishing.
dazz999
Has liked: 5 times

Job keeper plan

Post by dazz999 » Thu Apr 09, 2020 4:38 pm

Is anyone on it at the moment ,is it a good thing are company,s taking advantage,s of it example letting you use holiday pay before they use it Please be civil about it .i work in the motor trade/dealership

4liters
Has liked: 6 times

Re: Job keeper plan

Post by 4liters » Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:57 pm

It hasn't started yet, businesses can register their interest at this stage though. They haven't released the legislation so everything that has been publicised to date is just the initial proposal so there might be some changes although that is unlikely.

It would be hard for businesses to defraud the plan based on what we know so far because the ATO will be monitoring payments to employees to make sure the $1500 gets passed on to them.

The most likely way it will be abused is through sole traders signing up when they aren't really impacted, but that's probably a fairly minor concern in the grand scheme of things.

One problem is that payments aren't going to start until May so there's a lot of businesses that can't keep paying their workforce until then, and because the subsidy is based on businesses paying their workforce those people will miss out.