Rock fishing/LBG Setup

Kage79

Rock fishing/LBG Setup

Post by Kage79 » Wed Feb 26, 2020 10:09 pm

Hi all!

I'm new to fishing with a rod and looking at getting into the LBG from the rocks. I'm looking at buying the Daiwa Saltist 962 with a Daiwa BG 5000 reel from BCF.

Is this going to be a good setup for throwing lures? Also, what size line and lures would you recommend?

Thanks in advance!

PS. It will get some boat use as well but not often.

Seniorfisho
Has liked: 798 times

Re: Rock fishing/LBG Setup

Post by Seniorfisho » Thu Feb 27, 2020 5:37 am

Hey mate, if your new to fishing you might want to start with a simpler form of fishing before risking your life LBG fishing, it takes a lot of experience to go rock fishing

Kage79

Post by Kage79 » Thu Feb 27, 2020 6:07 am

I appreciate the feedback and I'm aware of some of the dangers involved. I come from spearfishing so I'm comfortable around the water and I won't be fishing from ledges lock Punchbowl to start with :P .

If you're familiar with rock fishing I'd still love some advice on line and lure setup that'll help me catch a wide range of fish. I might mention that I'm not after Marlin and the big game stuff, just some good fighting fish like snapper etc...

Thanks!

Seniorfisho

Post by Seniorfisho » Thu Feb 27, 2020 8:09 am

Kage79 wrote:
Thu Feb 27, 2020 6:07 am
I appreciate the feedback and I'm aware of some of the dangers involved. I come from spearfishing so I'm comfortable around the water and I won't be fishing from ledges lock Punchbowl to start with :P .

If you're familiar with rock fishing I'd still love some advice on line and lure setup that'll help me catch a wide range of fish. I might mention that I'm not after Marlin and the big game stuff, just some good fighting fish like snapper etc...

Thanks!