Help on line weight

ImTheDave

Help on line weight

Post by ImTheDave » Sun Nov 24, 2019 7:18 pm

Hi all,
I’m after some help on line weight. I’m not that experienced in fishing and the wife and I do it for fun but either our rods are broken or were completely useless because we never catch anything (just got back from a weekend in Lakes Entrance and caught 2 toadies and one Salmon in the surf off Eastern Beach over about 15 hours so probably the latter....)

We like surf fishing but I’ve always had a problem with lines breaking so like a noob, bought a roll of 50lb mono line. I know I’ll never catch anything that size off the surf but it did solve the problem with line breaks. We went the whole weekend without a single break plus the mono line was great and didn’t tangle once.

There was a guy there giving some helpful advice on how to cast out a good distance but he kept saying our line was too big. I was pretty happy with the distance we were casting and it seemed to match everyone else on the beach but what really is the disadvantage in using heavy line?
Is there such a thing as being ‘too heavy’ and does it affect casting distance?

We’ve got a couple of 12ft ugly stick balance II we got from BCF.

Thanks a lot

DougieK
Has liked: 30 times

Re: Help on line weight

Post by DougieK » Sun Nov 24, 2019 7:23 pm

It depends on how much money you want to spend. It's probably your knots and not your line strength that's the issue.

If you have the $ spool your reel with a quality braid, learn to tie a solid leader knot, then use uni knots to connect everything else, or buy premade rigs. Heavy mono will not cast very far at all.

The braid will let you cast much, much further. Uni knots are relatively simple to learn and as good as anything else for connecting terminal tackle.

Your rods and reels are probably ok for salmon surf fishing, target high tides at dawn or dusk, low swell conditions and cast at the darkest spot in the water.